Drs. Foster and Smith Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Drs. Foster and Smith
Shop Submersible Pumps or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5

Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5

Pondmaster Mag-Drive Pumps: Provide better water flow under harsh pond conditions
Average Customer Rating:
4.528 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
34 out of 36(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Review 1 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good pump

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Acehi
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have been using these pumps for ten years and I think they are great.
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent pump

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pat2014
from Arizona
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
This pump is an efficient and reliable item. However the pre-filter that comes with it comes apart too easily and is detached from the pump at the slightest disturbance.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value
Cons: pre-filter duribility low
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent pump

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
HMG49
from Southern CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
This replaces the same model which ran perfectly 24/7 for six years. Extremely reliable, quiet, EZ to maintain. Mine is actually the PM 7.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Duly
from Hollywood.Fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Works very well. Very powerfull. Pond is crystal clear.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
PittsburghPondOwner
from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This is a great pump. I have had them before and they last for years. I have one complaint with the ordering web page. When I prdered the pump there was a pre-filter listed directly below the pump. I ordered the pre-filter but it did not fit the pump. I called about this and the woman was very nice but informed me that there was a note at the bottom of the web page if you scrolled down that indicated that the pre-filter did not fit this pump. Very bad design of the ordering web page. This note should be up where you click to order the pre-filter.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not last

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
DrFSFan
from Irvine, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I use the Mag drive P18 to move salt water from my garage to the indoor tank. I carefully washed and dried it after each use. The first one lasted for years, but the second one was plagued with problems. I had to loosen the screws in the housing to get the motor to spin. Now it is dead. The interior where the magnet resides was corroded and fixed together. This is not acceptable for a pump that is supposed to be used in salt water.
Cons: not durable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent pump

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
gergory
After a hard freeze and no signs of life from my pump, I ordered a new one from Foster and Smith. After breaking up the ice and removing the pump, I found it still works! Now I have a new back up.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pump Works Great

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grnrubi
from Arizona
Age:55-65
Gender:male
While the pump is small and works great, the filter screen is larger than the pump. I had to modify it in order to place the pump in my filter system. It would have been nice if the description of the pump and filter screen included the overall measurements of the complete setup.
Pros: Good Value
Cons: overall size of pump and filter screen
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gary1977
from Lacey, WA
Age:55-65
These are great pumps, had one before that lasted 5 years and it was on everyday for at least 12 hours a day. Ordered this one from FS and as usual service is great got my pump in 3 days. Keep up the great work.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Walt Okon - Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5 Review

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
WaltOkon
from Springfield, Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
This is my first time to buy and use a Mag-Drive Pump. Normally I am using the bigger pond pumps pushing 4000 GPH. But I have just build a garden Stream that is 18 inches wide by 12 feet long. I wanted something that moved water and would have visible water movement. this Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5 pushing 700 GPH is doing the job. It have been running for only three weeks and all is well. I am a little disappointed in the water movement. I should have gotten a pump that moved about 1500 gph. I am keeping this Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5 and can report later on it long live and operating performance. For now, all is well. Walt Okon, Springfield Virginia
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, low use of electric
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
etnwolfman
from Knoxville,Tn
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Have had this pump up and running for two weeks now and am totally satisfied with it. Great service from Dr f&s Very prompt shipping.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't last long ??????

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grif
from Frederick County Maryland
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
only reason for me to post a reply or review is to COMPLETELY disagree with the poster who said these pumps do not last long...
I have a 9.5 a 12 and an 18 and they are all over 10 years old PLUS they run 24/7 from March thru December ..
Yes I have had to replace the impellers on each a few times (cheap at about 2@20 bucks each) but these jumps just keep on working... repair is a 5 minute job done by and replacing the core unit..(impeller and shaft)...
They are the ONLY PUMPs I will ever use
Bob
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, they work better then the energizer bunny
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
karenfishes
Colorado
 
Please wait while more information about karenfishes is loaded.
Additional information about karenfishes could not be loaded.
8 years and going strong
Posted April 4, 2014
I have 2 of thesenpumps and after 8 years I am replacing my first impeller. My pump runs a fi!ter in the summer and runs all winter without the filter and it just broke in November. I would highly recommend these pumps
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
SamP
Plano, TX
 
Please wait while more information about SamP is loaded.
Additional information about SamP could not be loaded.
Don't last long
Posted September 29, 2013
We replaced our PM 18 this spring. At that point, it was 11 years old. That is by far and away the best and longest lasting pump we have owned in 12 years of running 2 - 3500 to 4000 gallon ponds. We put that thing in the water, cleaned the pre-filter once every two months, and that was it. These things are an incredible value for the money. I wish I could say that about the 5 Laguna's or the 6 other pumps we have tossed in that 12 year period.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Working well s far

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
PONDMASTERUSER
from Near Portland Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I would have given 5 stars, but the first pump didn't work and I had to send it back, The return process was smooth and fast and the secind pump is working fine.
Pros: Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!!

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
EGonz
from Denham Springs, LA.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
This is my second Mag-Drive Pump, not because the one prior does not work. But, because the first one is still pumping after 2 years non stop operation. This new pump I have acquired is going to replace a Little-Giant pump that is used to power a fountain in my 1000 Gallon fish pond.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value
Cons: no cons
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product fit my needs

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
wrider100
from Morgan Hill, California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I bought this pump to replace one that had broken down. It is smaller than the original pump so it was easier to fit in my pond. It also pumps a greater volume of water than the old one. I rated it only 4 stars because I have been using it for only a few weeks so I can't say anything about its longevity. The last pump lasted only two years and I think it should have lasted longer.
Pros: Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wouldn't keep working

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
WJames
from Nazareht, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Ordered the PM 12 Pump. Arrived in timely fashion. Plugged it in, worked fine. Second time, worked fine. Third time, motor hummed but wouldn't pump. I'll have to send it back and hope the next one works.
Pros: Good Value
Cons: doesn't last long.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This pump work well, no issues

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MMathews
from Ray, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
It was easy to install, and is working. I have only had it for a couple of weeks but it is dong the job well.
Product was shipped in just a couple of days!
Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, seems well built
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as powerful as suggested

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
BlazingTartan
from Lake Forest, California
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Good enough pump--the fact that it can be either submersed or not is a big plus. However the output doesn't compare to the pump it replaced which was spec'd at a lower gph than this Pondmaster pump (the water fountain is much smaller).
Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, non-submersible
Cons: not strong enough.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great & priced nicely

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Danny300
Age:35-44
Gender:male
It works great. Not to noisy & does what it's supposed to. Can't ask for much more than that. And it's priced just right. I used this pump on my 3 tub bait tanks.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great as expected

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Oregon55
from Eugene,OR
Age:55-65
Gender:male
bought this to replace an 18 year old pondmaster 1200 that finally wouldn't stay running. I replaced a couple of impellers over the years, but these pumps are rock solid. It runs 24/7 year round. I have another 750 gph that's going on 8 years with no maintenance. Defininately would recommend,
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>