Drs. Foster and Smith Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Drs. Foster and Smith
Shop SALE CENTER or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5

Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5

Pondmaster Mag-Drive Pumps: Provide better water flow under harsh pond conditions
Average Customer Rating:
4.587 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
44 out of 46(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Review 1 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BETTER THAN I HOPED FOR

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from SALEM OREGON
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
THE OLD FOUNTAIN PUMP GAVE THE LOOK OF A GARDEN HOSE THAT WAS CRIMPED , NOW THE POND IS WOW WOW WOW LIKE A TORENT OF FALLS GOING ON
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work horse Pump

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Northern California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I have had this pump for about year, running continuously. It doesn't get plugged up and it is quiet. I am very happy with it. I wish the lightweight plastic filter that attaches to the intake were made out of something a little more durable. it is easily damaged. Buy an extra.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact design and very effective

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Southern Calif.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Very good value for the money and a true workhorse in my 2000 gal. pond.
Pros: Durable, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent performance

PostedJune 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Eureka, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I have shopped at Drs. Foster and Smith for over 15 years and have never been disappointed. The quality and performance has always been excellent, delivery is fast and without fail and I can always find whatever I need for my pond quickly on-line. The power and performance of the pond pump I just purchased is excellent.
Pros: Durable, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Plugged it in and it worked great! Used it to drain pond for cleaning and it worked great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump

PostedMay 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from White Lake, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I purchased this pump to use with a UV clarifier. I am really pleased with the pump's performance so far (about 2weeks). My pond is about 1,800 gallons and this pump processes the entire pond every 1.2 hours. Sturdy, well built, and worth the purchase price, especially if you find it on sale as I did. The only thing I recommend is having a spare pre-filter. I didn't know the pump came with one, so I ordered the pre-filter when I purchased the pump. When I placed the pump in the pond and activated it, the suction pulled small leaves from the bottom on to the prefilter. The leaves surrounded the prefilter and the pump suction caused it to collapse . Since then, I have been more careful placing the pump and have had no issues.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a small powerful pump

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from sc
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Bought it for my small fish pond about 7'x10' . It works great. Comes with a filter which helps keep the dirt out. I have a lot of trees around but this pump keeps circulating.
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Silence is Golden

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Purchased the Supreme Danner Mag 18 pump after wasting my money on a Syncra Silent 4.0 Pump. Upon reading reviews and watching videos on the Syncra SILENT pump, I thought it would be a good move. NOT… it was one LOUD humming monster. Instead of going through the trouble of returning it, I decided to use it to pump my R/O water to my tank on water changes. I use the Mag drive 18 to pump water from my refugium back to the display tank. I will tell you, you can hardly hear it! Even in the dead of night and the pump doesn’t even have any base or suction cups to dampen noise. I have it sitting right on the bottom glass and there is little to none humming noise resonating at all.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely reliable

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
Pump ran 24/7 for fifteen years!!! Only replaced it due to algae buildup. It still works!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far,so good

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
It has only been a week or so that this pump has been in service. so far,so good. it has been working fine with no problems. so far I like it better than some other pumps that I have tried. it seems to work good and the filter has kept things from stopping the pump. this is way to early to give an accurate review.
Pros: Easy to Use, filter has not clogged
Cons: needed other fittings to adapt
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good pump

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have been using these pumps for ten years and I think they are great.
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent pump

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
This pump is an efficient and reliable item. However the pre-filter that comes with it comes apart too easily and is detached from the pump at the slightest disturbance.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value
Cons: pre-filter duribility low
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent pump

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southern CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
This replaces the same model which ran perfectly 24/7 for six years. Extremely reliable, quiet, EZ to maintain. Mine is actually the PM 7.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hollywood.Fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Works very well. Very powerfull. Pond is crystal clear.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This is a great pump. I have had them before and they last for years. I have one complaint with the ordering web page. When I prdered the pump there was a pre-filter listed directly below the pump. I ordered the pre-filter but it did not fit the pump. I called about this and the woman was very nice but informed me that there was a note at the bottom of the web page if you scrolled down that indicated that the pre-filter did not fit this pump. Very bad design of the ordering web page. This note should be up where you click to order the pre-filter.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not last

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Irvine, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I use the Mag drive P18 to move salt water from my garage to the indoor tank. I carefully washed and dried it after each use. The first one lasted for years, but the second one was plagued with problems. I had to loosen the screws in the housing to get the motor to spin. Now it is dead. The interior where the magnet resides was corroded and fixed together. This is not acceptable for a pump that is supposed to be used in salt water.
Cons: not durable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent pump

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
After a hard freeze and no signs of life from my pump, I ordered a new one from Foster and Smith. After breaking up the ice and removing the pump, I found it still works! Now I have a new back up.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pump Works Great

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
Age:55-65
Gender:male
While the pump is small and works great, the filter screen is larger than the pump. I had to modify it in order to place the pump in my filter system. It would have been nice if the description of the pump and filter screen included the overall measurements of the complete setup.
Pros: Good Value
Cons: overall size of pump and filter screen
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lacey, WA
Age:55-65
These are great pumps, had one before that lasted 5 years and it was on everyday for at least 12 hours a day. Ordered this one from FS and as usual service is great got my pump in 3 days. Keep up the great work.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Walt Okon - Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5 Review

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Springfield, Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
This is my first time to buy and use a Mag-Drive Pump. Normally I am using the bigger pond pumps pushing 4000 GPH. But I have just build a garden Stream that is 18 inches wide by 12 feet long. I wanted something that moved water and would have visible water movement. this Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5 pushing 700 GPH is doing the job. It have been running for only three weeks and all is well. I am a little disappointed in the water movement. I should have gotten a pump that moved about 1500 gph. I am keeping this Mag-Drive Pumps PM 5 and can report later on it long live and operating performance. For now, all is well. Walt Okon, Springfield Virginia
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, low use of electric
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>