Drs. Foster and Smith Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Anti-Bark Collar

Anti-Bark Collar

Citronella Spray Anti-Bark Collar is a harmless Citronella spray collar that conditions your dog to stop nuisance barking
Average Customer Rating:
4.122 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
11
83 out of 96(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 66 Answers
Customer Reviews for Anti-Bark Collar
Review 1 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedJuly 14, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I purchased this so we could use it in a hotel room with our dog on vacation. Odie always barks when there is knock on the door. We knew he would not be welcome in the hotel because of uncontrollable barking. The first time we put it on, he barked , stopped, and backed up when it sprayed. He was immediately trained with the collar. Excellent product!
Pros: Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Changed our lives!! :0)

PostedJuly 8, 2016
Customer Avatar
from North Ridgeville, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I have always been against the "shock collars" to stop a dog from barking. I have a lab-mix named Myah whose barking was just out of control!! This product has made her the perfect dog! It simply gives her a slight spray of citronella, and she immediately stops barking to search for the smell! We love the PetSafe Anti Bark Spray Collar!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work's great on most nuisance barking

PostedJuly 2, 2016
Customer Avatar
I use this primarily when I'm walking my dog - it definitely controls any barking when facing oncoming dogs/strangers he may have had a problem with before. I also use it if I have to contain him in a bedroom, for instance if someone is working in my house. Before, he would have barked for ages; not any more-sweet silence. The only time I find it doesn't work is when certain friends visit and he barks like crazy because he's so excited- then it's just not enough of a deterrent. Overall I definitely recommend this product. I hope I can find refills at my local store though, as usps is pretty slow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mostly works

PostedJune 7, 2016
Customer Avatar
We have an border collie mix who is very smart but has the potential to be highly obnoxious with his barking. We used to use a shock collar but a) this isn't the nicest method and b) his hair is too thick for him to feel the shock, so it was ineffective. This collar, although not perfect, has made him so much more tolerable. He still lets out a few barks when I come home, but they are much quieter. He stops after a few barks, though, whereas before he would bark nonstop until we threw his ball for him. He also barks less even when we take the collar off to play ball. Also, we've only been using it about 2 weeks, so perhaps it will get even better as time goes on.
My only complaint is that the directions state that the collar should be completely filled up, but there is no way given to indicate whether it's full or not. I will try contacting customer service about this to see if they have any suggestions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible side effects.

PostedMay 31, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Hollywood, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
My dog was very I'll soon after the collar was placed on him. Yes, he stopped barking...but at what cost. He vomited and had watery stools for three days. I had such hope for this product. Thank you.
Cons: made dog sick.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems to be working!

PostedApril 27, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Murrysville, Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I have 3 little chihuahuas and they like to bark. I bought this product because I felt the shock collars would be too strong for my little dogs. I am using it on a particular chihuahua because he seems to be the one that starts barking first. I don't wear it all the time- mostly in the house. He has started barking at basically nothing and I am now watching my grandchild and it is very annoying. The collar worked almost instantly and he stopped barking immediately. This happen several times. He does still bark when the collar is off. I try not to wear it when I know the other dogs could bark ( like outside) still experimenting with.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Value
Cons: bulky for my small dog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Instantly did the trick!

PostedApril 25, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Madison, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
We have a two year old English Setter. They're not really known to be barkers but ours was and it was getting more prevalent each week. I picked this one verse the kind that shocks b/c we have underground fencing and I didn't want to confuse my dog and scare her. Literally we put it on, she barked once and has hardly done it since and it's been about two weeks. We use to let her out at night and she would bark at the wind, leaves or anything. We had a hard time getting her to come in and it was getting worse and worse. This did the trick. She seems relaxed and doesn't seem to be fighting the urge either.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

simply works

PostedMarch 29, 2016
Customer Avatar
The spray collar works...simple. I never considered a shock collar and never will but had to find a way to stop my dog from barking at every noise in defense of home and person, training didn't work alone but with the spray collar my dog realizes to stop the barking and listen to training. Upon the small quick burst of spray from the collar she immediately stops barking and looks to me for advice. I can turn the spray option off while she still wears the collar for longer and longer periods of time now.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Peace and Quiet has never sounded so good.

PostedMarch 14, 2016
Customer Avatar
from St Charles, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This collar works great. I have 2 dogs, both are small. One is a barker, so much so that I nicknamed him Barky McBarksalot (real name Jigger). The other (real name Bourbon) only barks when startled or when he hears McBarksalot barking. We have tried the sonic training collars and those only agitated the dogs to the point that I thought I was going to have to sedate them, or me. They could hear the sounds even with the devices turned off. Good ears, I guess. But these spray collars are the perfect solution.
The first day I put them on them, they learned after the first bark what the consequence of a bark would be. They have been wearing them for about 2 weeks now. I do take them off at night, because I do want them to bark if they need to go out in the morning..they are my alarm clock. And I want them to alert me if they hear any doors open, etc.
They have adjusted well to them, and they understand their purpose. I try to say "NO" whenever I hear them bark the one time, so that they associate "NO" with the spray as well.
McBarksalot watches TV and barks at animals, cartoons, men on horses and anything that looks like an animal (aliens, Grimm creatures). It is so frustrating trying to watch TV with him in the room. Since we got the collars, I can count on one hand the number of times he has tried to bark. I say "tried to" because he gets a half a bark out before he hears the hiss of the device and immediately cuts off his bark in mid-yip.
These little devices may save my marriage and they will prevent my neighbors from becoming murderers.
Great device. I plan to leave them on for a few more weeks and then slowly ween them off (first in the house, then outside) to see how they do.
Thanks for the excellent product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value
Cons: a bit bulky for small dogs
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ineffective

PostedJanuary 4, 2016
Customer Avatar
It works for the first minute and then becomes totally ineffective.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJanuary 3, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Chico ca
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Great product! Half he price of any store. Works great, my shepherd only needs to bark one time and decided barking wasn't worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is working so well with my little barker.

PostedDecember 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hemet, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
My terrier/mix is learning not to bark all the time it also keeps him from whining. This product is a safe way to curb the barking.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Citronella spray collar

PostedDecember 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lake Lure, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
We have a year old Beagle whose favorite thing is barking. It was ok with us ut was getting us in trouble with the neighbors. We ordered this collar with high expectations. The first time it sprayed her was comical. She kept looking around to see "who did that". The collar worked great for the first week or so, but I guess barking wins out in the end. I still put it on her when she goes out, but if she sees something really good to bark at, the collar sprays, she keeps barking and comes back in smelling like a big Citronella plant. I'm sure there are some dogs that this would work great on, but our luck with it hasn't been much.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: doesn't work on our dog
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedDecember 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Mesa, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Really worked with a continual barker. She still barks but maybe only once or twice.
Pros: Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Like a Charm

PostedOctober 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
My dog's territorial barking at other dogs who walked past the house was getting out of control. Worse than the barking was his excitement level. Hackles up, lunging, escalating barking. I didn't want to get a shock collar, so this seemed like a good alternative, although I was skeptical as to whether it would work. I needn't have been! The first time we put it on, he barked once, then calmed right down. We're using it less and less because he no longer barks at everything. The best thing is that he's a lot calmer and less stressed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality, humane, doesn't seem to bother
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs don't like citronilla

PostedOctober 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I have 2 dogs that barked. This is my second collar. It's much quieter around our house now
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't believe what I wasn't hearing!!!!!

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Clyde, N.Y.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I was totally skeptical for positive results, however, the constant barking of my basset hound was driving us and our neighbors crazy. We had immediate results, Lou barked about 2-3 times and that was it. Finally peace on Hill St. Yeah!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Anti-Bark Spray collar

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hemet, Ca
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This collar is very humane; it sprayed me when I was testing it and the spray is very light and citronella scented. My little Chihuahua didn't like it though, and after one spray she stopped barking. It is a little bit big for a small dog, but other than that, I am very pleased. I have a vibration collar also and it works fine for my little Chiweenie, but not on my Chihuahua. Just don't use a shock collar! In my opinion they are inhumane. I will use the spray collar as I continue to teach her the "quiet" command. It is coming along slow but sure!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
Cons: a bit big for a toy dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

My dog must love the smell

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Freedom PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This was recommended by my vet for my Sheltie who loves barking in the house. He has a heart murmur so she thought it would be a safe one to try. My house smells like fresh citrus and my silly dog is still barking. I'm sure others have had good luck, but my dog prefers running like crazy and barking.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Anti-Bark Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Collar malfunctioned

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
Age:45-54
Gender:female
First few days the collar worked on my papillon, then the collar malfunctioned. After 3 days of working my papillon continued to bark even while getting sprayed, I then noticed the spray coming out was a very weak spritz , then just oozed out. I called Dr. Foster Smith to get a replacement collar. They were GREAT! They sent me a new collar with no problem. (Extremely happy with their service). Unfortunately when I placed the new collar on my papillon she still barked after the spray. I don 't know if she just got use to the collar because of the weak spray from the original collar and now can just ignore the full spray. I would still recommend this collar. It is worth a try.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>