Drs. Foster and Smith Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Drs. Foster and Smith
Shop Water Pumps or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)

Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)

Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump: Economical, strong and versatile magnetic drive aquarium pumps
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
36 out of 39(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Review 1 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

keeps on pumping

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
SCohen
from North Port FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I've lost track of how many years this guy has been sending water up to my main aquarium from the sump. It's quiet and it keeps on going . . .
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Straight forward product

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
jcornwall3
from Olympia, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I am using this pump for a small aquaponics system and it does the job well. I just plugged it in and I was set, no problems with it at all.
Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For my Koi pond

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Naulale
from Bay Area, california
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Very reliable pump which seems to last forever. The downsize is you have to be careful to have some kind of net or barrier to prevent debris from being sucked in. The included foam is not very useful for a koi pond because the muck would clog it so fast that it seems you might have to rinse it every 2 hours !
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: no trap for debris. included foam insufficient
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works as it should

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
perez556
Age:18-24
Gender:male
works great very strong pump it can be a bit loud if it shifts from where it is placed. other than that i wil just give a constant buzz when on
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

durable, 6 yrs and still going

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
DrRock
from Midwest
Age:45-54
Gender:male
seem to be a very good value. i have 2 that have been working for 6 years with out any trouble and no maintenance..i bought a 3 rd originally for a backup but it is still in the box un opened
Pros: Durable, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
thedude2
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I use it for different things and it works great ,gets the jobs done that I need done
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cover is not well built

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
SaltwaterGuy
from Reno, NV
Age:18-24
Gender:male
I purchased this mag 7 unit from drsfostersmith a couple of weeks ago, and today I finally finished gluing all of the pvc together to fit to the piping on the pump. I was planning on using the pump to simply increase the circulation in my 90 gallon saltwater tank. Unfortunately, as soon as I began to thread the pvc into the female water inlet, the inlet cracked. I just ordered two replacement covers w/ O rings, but I am not happy with how fragile the pump cover is.
I had heard raving reviews about this pump, but so far it hasn't proven it to me.
Cons: low quality plastic cover
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SaltwaterGuy
NV
 
Please wait while more information about SaltwaterGuy is loaded.
Additional information about SaltwaterGuy could not be loaded.
Posted March 7, 2014
Updated 3/7/14:
Now I have had to send the pump back to the company, as the actual plastic housing of the pump got a crack where one of the screws threads in. I am extremely dissatisfied with this pump.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The pump is very well built and is quiet.

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
BigOscar
from Boston, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Bought the 9.5 for a 90 gallon freshwater tank. The pump pulls water down 4 feet, through the pump then pushes water through an easy flow double filter system and UV and back up 4 feet to the tank at 325 GPH at 3 PSI in 3/4" pipe. Pump is quiet if placed on a vibration pad. Great pump for this kind of application (low pressure). I've used two 18B series submerged in my outside pond for three years without issue.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

3 out of 4 ain't bad

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pinque
from Jawja
Age:55-65
Gender:male
User submitted photo
I have used this pump since the beginning on my 72 gallon reef tank. it's easy to clean and generally has been very reliable. I have replaced the original twice now (for no other reason than not taking a chance with the heart of the system and a tank full of nearly priceless animals).
The third pump had a very loud humming noise that literally could be heard throughout the house, so it was returned for a new one.
Due to the holidays, I have not yet installed the replacement.
If this one is as noisy, I will be looking for a new brand!
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: last one was defective
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump at a fair price

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joemamma
I just installed this pump un a 120 gallon tank. I had previously been running a smaller version of this pump but was not getting enough flow. So far, the increased flow is exactly what I was looking to get.
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks well made.

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
rubilink
from Tyler, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Have only been using it for a couple of weeks, but it looks well made and pumping at the rated capacity.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Performer For The Price

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eddie1100
from Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
This utility pump performs as advertised and is guaranteed a performer for a good price.I used it to power up my homemade BioPellet Reactor and 700 gallon model is more than what I needed.Very strong pump but my only problem is the heat it generates.Excellentfor the DIY BioPellet Reactor.Would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use, solid performer, quiet operation
Cons: will heat up water when submersed., the four legs for screws are prone to breakage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product & price

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
RSMilward
from Durham, NC
After years of service, we finally needed a replacement, and Foster & Smith had the best price on this long-lasting pump. Thanks!
Pros: Durable, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built Danner strong!

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pegasus1
I use a Mag Drive 18 to pump return water to my 125G DT at a height of approximately 10'. My refugium is under the tank in the basement, and I wanted a pump that wouldn't strain while delivering the proper volume of water. This pump is an over-achiever... I had to reduce the return flow to roughly 3/4 to keep it from sucking the refugium's return chamber dry. I have dual 1" overflows with about 9' of unrestricted drop, so they can move a lot of water... but the slot between the overflow/skimmer chamber and the refugium chamber restricts the amount of water reaching the return chamber. I simply match the pump's return flow to what's entering the return chamber by adjusting the only valve on the entire system... the return valve. Voila! Water steadily stays on the level line. This pump hasn't missed a beat, and with a 5 year warranty, I expect it to last for a long, long time.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as advertised

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Claude43B1
from Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:male
The pump is not as quiet as I thought it should be. It was also difficult to obtain the "plumbing" parts required to connect to the system.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
dougdoug
from Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Good service from Dr. Foster/Smith. I have used these pumps in the past and have been happy. This is no exception.
Thanks
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

overall good

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
maak
from st. louis, mo
Age:35-44
Gender:male
this is a big pump which I have had several of them. this pump is loud! If you put this in your living room on a big tank be prepared for the noise.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Cons: loud
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent pump

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peteave
from Fairfield Bay, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I use this pump to supply water to my Aquaponics growbeds. I ordered it because of past experience with a smaller model by the same manufacturer. It is the best product I have found for my use, highly reliable and quiet in operation. With a ball valve on the discharge end, I can regulate the amount of water supplied without worrying about burning up the pump. It is a great product.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, absolutely reliable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Do It!

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
DarrellJr83
from Las Vegas
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I bought the 950 to anchor my 20L sump. Boy, does it do the job. I had to turn it down a bit but the power this thing has is unmatched. We don't even wanna talk about how quiet it is...SILENT. I love it and I'm gonna purchase the monster for my 250.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, quiet, powerful
Cons: big
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 700 (MD7 (Mfg# 02517)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for what it is

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tony916
So I got the mag 9.5 pump set it up and boy it's on the loud side !! Wish I would have bought something a bit quiter! Just a little dissapointed but ill use it for now and maybe upgrade another time .
Yes good pump , only con a bit Loud
Pros: Durable
Cons: loud
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>