Drs. Foster and Smith Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)

Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)

Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump: Economical, strong and versatile magnetic drive aquarium pumps
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
46 out of 50(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 72 Answers
Customer Reviews for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Review 1 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

as advertised, shipped quick

PostedJune 27, 2016
Customer Avatar
from ma
Age:55-65
Gender:male
just as advertised, quickly shipped w/out damage,,happy custy here
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump

PostedFebruary 8, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I'm. using it for my chiller and it's working great. It seems to be very well built.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bummed

PostedJanuary 24, 2016
Customer Avatar
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I got the 9.5 for a return pump in my sump for my reef, this thing is louder than having a washing machine in my living room, but it does put out quite well. This pump should be for ponds only. oh, and the plastic screen inside the foam filter broke real easy.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: loud! uses more electricity than othersbulky
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent economical pump

PostedOctober 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
Age:55-65
Gender:female
In my experience these submersible magnetic drive pumps are the most dependable yet economical pump on the market. Whether my water husbandry projects are freshwater/saltwater or indoor/outdoor, I always choose a mag drive pump to run the system. They come in multiple sizes to fit any system.
One pump ran an outdoor pond for 5 years continuously! even through some heavy algae blooms! One day I thought it was done. I took it apart, cleaned it, put it back together, and it ran another 2 years!
As long as they have water, they seem to run forever-amazing pumps.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality, submersible/waterproof, reliable, easy to clean
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pump and Value

PostedSeptember 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
The pump has been working great for the past couple of weeks in my 65 gallon salt water tank. Easy to install and assemble. The only thing that would of made it better is if the rubber feet were included. I would recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very powerful and quiet!

PostedSeptember 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New york
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Had a mag 7 in my 90 works great for 3yrs no issues, i up graded my tank to 125 and a mag 12, perfect match for the tank, lots of flow, quiet, thank you
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Pump

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
Gender:male
Really like this pump. Using it for high water flow between my sump and a large refugium connected to my 150 gal. reef tank. The pump is very quiet and comes with a nice inlet filter. I would recommend this brand.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Pump

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Gainesville, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Very Quite and powerful 700 GPH great for my return pump for my 65 gallon salt water aquarium .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good price, Not as good of performance

PostedJune 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Green Bay, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Seems to perform well, but is noisy. Hoping that durability makes up for the noise.
Pros: Good Value
Cons: noisy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

main pump

PostedMay 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I purchased this as the main pump in my 110 gal DAS tank. The original was no longer available. After a trip to the hardware store, I was able to get the pump installed with minimal effort. It works very well, and is quiet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
So far it works great. it does not come with adapters for hose fittings. i've purchased 5 pumps over the last 10 years and they all came with hose adapters. not sure if it's a price point thing since this pump is the most expensive pump i've purchased and came with the least amount of accessories.The plastic feels strong. this mag drive is replacing a well known name brand pump that was a bit cheaper in price but on that older pump, the plastic came apart on me after 1 year of use. the feel of the mag drive feels well made.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

keeps on pumping

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Port FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I've lost track of how many years this guy has been sending water up to my main aquarium from the sump. It's quiet and it keeps on going . . .
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Straight forward product

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Olympia, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I am using this pump for a small aquaponics system and it does the job well. I just plugged it in and I was set, no problems with it at all.
Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For my Koi pond

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bay Area, california
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Very reliable pump which seems to last forever. The downsize is you have to be careful to have some kind of net or barrier to prevent debris from being sucked in. The included foam is not very useful for a koi pond because the muck would clog it so fast that it seems you might have to rinse it every 2 hours !
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: no trap for debris. included foam insufficient
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works as it should

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:male
works great very strong pump it can be a bit loud if it shifts from where it is placed. other than that i wil just give a constant buzz when on
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

durable, 6 yrs and still going

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Midwest
Age:45-54
Gender:male
seem to be a very good value. i have 2 that have been working for 6 years with out any trouble and no maintenance..i bought a 3 rd originally for a backup but it is still in the box un opened
Pros: Durable, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I use it for different things and it works great ,gets the jobs done that I need done
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cover is not well built

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Reno, NV
Age:18-24
Gender:male
I purchased this mag 7 unit from drsfostersmith a couple of weeks ago, and today I finally finished gluing all of the pvc together to fit to the piping on the pump. I was planning on using the pump to simply increase the circulation in my 90 gallon saltwater tank. Unfortunately, as soon as I began to thread the pvc into the female water inlet, the inlet cracked. I just ordered two replacement covers w/ O rings, but I am not happy with how fragile the pump cover is.
I had heard raving reviews about this pump, but so far it hasn't proven it to me.
Cons: low quality plastic cover
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SaltwaterGuy
NV
 
Please wait while more information about SaltwaterGuy is loaded.
Additional information about SaltwaterGuy could not be loaded.
Posted March 7, 2014
Updated 3/7/14:
Now I have had to send the pump back to the company, as the actual plastic housing of the pump got a crack where one of the screws threads in. I am extremely dissatisfied with this pump.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The pump is very well built and is quiet.

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Bought the 9.5 for a 90 gallon freshwater tank. The pump pulls water down 4 feet, through the pump then pushes water through an easy flow double filter system and UV and back up 4 feet to the tank at 325 GPH at 3 PSI in 3/4" pipe. Pump is quiet if placed on a vibration pad. Great pump for this kind of application (low pressure). I've used two 18B series submerged in my outside pond for three years without issue.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Supreme Classic Mag Drive Pump 500 (MD5)(Mfg# 02515)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

3 out of 4 ain't bad

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Jawja
Age:55-65
Gender:male
User submitted photo
I have used this pump since the beginning on my 72 gallon reef tank. it's easy to clean and generally has been very reliable. I have replaced the original twice now (for no other reason than not taking a chance with the heart of the system and a tank full of nearly priceless animals).
The third pump had a very loud humming noise that literally could be heard throughout the house, so it was returned for a new one.
Due to the holidays, I have not yet installed the replacement.
If this one is as noisy, I will be looking for a new brand!
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: last one was defective
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>