Drs. Foster and Smith Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Drs. Foster and Smith
Shop Tropical Foods or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)

Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)

Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food: Probiotic bacteria in this nutritious spirulina flake fish food help improve digestion for less waste and cleaner aquarium water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Review 1 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great food, discus love it

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Angelsanddiscus
from Beaverton OR
Age:35-44
Gender:male
since all my discus like to eat from the bottom, this pellets are great because they sink to the bottom and stay at the open area of my tank where is easy for the fish to get.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is the very best on the market today.

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Proper
from California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Excellent product. My fish love it and keeps them in peak condition. It also reduces waste and keeps my tanks cleaner.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Pet Loves It, reduces waste
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fish Love It!!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Skystalker
from Greenville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
My Discus and Angel fish love this product! Feeding frenzy when this stuff hits the water.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great alternative to spirulina wafers

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
DaKilha
from Greater L.A.
Age:35-44
Gender:male
After more than a year of looking for vegatable/seaweed-based flake alternatives to the typical spirulina disks/wafers meant for plecos and the like, I couldn't be more satisfied to have found Cobalt's Spirulina Flakes.
While my fancy goldfish happily eat the disks -- broken into smaller pieces -- I wanted something that was easier for them to eat, and that wouldn't potentially get lost in the substrate if somehow the goldfish didn't locate every piece.
As other reviewers have noted, Cobalt's Spirulina Flakes are large and remain in tact rather than quickly distintegrate, thereby the flakes stay on the water surface longer than most staple food flakes, ensuring the fish consume most of the food before it plumets to the substrate.
When deciding which size to order I was skeptical the 3oz. container would be enough food, yet didn't want to order double the amount (and nearly double price) in the event the fish didn't take to the flakes. After receiving my order I was surprised at how much 3 ounces of food actually was: the container is taller (but slightly smaller in diameter) than a can of soda.
Bottom line: this size was much more food than I anticipated, and expect that it will last me the better part of a year since I don't use it as a daily staple, feeding it every other day at most.
Cobalt's Spirulina Flakes have thus far proven a great goldfish veggie food alternative to spirulina wafers, as well as the bothersome and messier option of mashed de-shelled peas.
Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It, large flake size
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fish seem to like it

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Whiplash4ever
from Rockford (Byron), IL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I like the Cobalt product line as do the fish (seemingly). If there's just one issue I have with it, it's just a tick higher in price than all the other flake food brands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love Colbolt foods

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
89hotsauce
from new york
Age:25-34
Gender:male
This food is great. I prefer pellet, but it also comes in flakes. The quality is awesome for the price, and my fish love them. However with any type of spirulina you need to watch how much you feed your fish because it will temporarily alter there color. I have a red Texas cichlid, and when it eats this stuff the majority of it's body turns completely black for a couple of days while it works itself out of the fishes body. Sprilina really riches the blacks in fish
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
Cons: pellets are tiny
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality Food

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
TangLakeOkie
from Kingfisher, Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I use these pellets as a supplement to my flake food. The fish seem to really like the pellets. It does sink but most of the time my cichlids are at the top waiting for me to drop it in! If any pellets do make it to the bottom of the tank my plecos like it as well.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It, pellets are small enough for young fish.
Cons: i wish it was in a can and not a bag
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good fish food

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Scoobydoher
from S.I.,NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
It's a good food my only complaint is that it sinks to fast.
Pros: Good Value, Pet Loves It
Cons: sinks to fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jess35
The pellets sink fast and the flakes don't fall apart and dirty the water. I got these for my guppies but my dwarf frogs, which I had a hard time getting to eat, absolutely love both the pellets and the flakes. I got the 3oz and they are huge. Great value and good quality.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good food, but not for all.

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dubya
from Tucson, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I bought this food to add variety to my fish' diet. I have two 5-year old Marble Angelfish (freshwater if you didn't know) that will NOT eat this food. The other tank-mates (couple of African Cichlids, silver dollars, and rosy barbs) seem to tolerate it, although not with as much enthusiasm as other foods that I have used. Perhaps a saltwater crowd would find more satisfaction with this type of food.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: mediocre response from fish
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good flakes

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Toma
from Bronx ny
Age:35-44
Gender:male
This is a very good product and has brought the color out on many of my fish greatly.
Pros: High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My fish love it!

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
MrRobot
from Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:male
As soon as this stuff hits the water, my fish swarm for it.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
Cons: a little pricey but truly a quality product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good stuff

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
BigBarnacles
from Aurora Illinois
Age:25-34
Gender:male
All of my fish seem to like this food. The wrasses and my kole tang are the main reason I bought this and I've had no complaints from them. Only four stars because they don't go crazy for it like they do with another flake food I give them.
Pros: Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
acfish
from Waterloo, Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:male
The flakes have substance that holds up as you use it. No tiny crumbs half way through the container. The fish seem to love it. I will purchase it again!
Pros: Durable, large flakes
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cobalt satwater food

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
hobbuyguy
Age:35-44
Gender:male
very good product
i really like the new cobalt food
it doesn't cloud the water and my saltwater pests love it
a very good product would not change a thing
would recommend highly
thnks fosters.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i have a flameback cichlid and he wouldnt eat pellets

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
kinnin3
from wilmington n.c.
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I had an old container of flakes and he ate those, so i bought the cobalt spirulina flakes and all my cichlids crush em!
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
sc1zzle
from Florida
Age:18-24
Gender:male
First, when I saw the size in Ounces I assumed it was small for the price. Wow was I surprised I ordered the large one it was way bigger than I expected. The food is great my fish love it and it is a good alternative to nori for my herbivorous fish giving them true green algae.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
CherryLips
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I bought this for my cichlids hoping to pull out great color and less waste, and it did exactly that!! Unlike other flake food that I have purchased in the past, these flakes are huge and fine, so they are perfect for all sizes of fish. I also found that this food was easily digested by my fry! Great for cichlids in every cycle of life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
SWAG
Age:18-24
Gender:male
My rainbowfish and my neon tetras took to this food immediatly and they gobble it right up!
I can even see improved color, I swear by this product and it will be the one I use for a very long time
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
Cons: the flakes are a bit large and must be broken
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spirulina Flakes = Delicious and Nutritious

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
DawnCHI
from Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I recently bought the Cobalt Spirulina Flakes for my Cichlids. They love it. I love it, too because I know it is healthy for them to eat. I've been feeding it to them twice daily as their staple diet and it does not effect the tank's water purity or quality. I will not ever go without Cobalt Spirulina Flakes for my "Little Soldiers"! I don't know know if I'm more happy about this product because of how much they LOVE it or how I LOVE it knowing it is nutritious and an important in their daily diets. I recommend Cobalt Spirulina Flakes for ANY cichlid owner, especially ones that love their Cichlids like I do!
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>