Drs. Foster and Smith Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Drs. Foster and Smith
Shop Tropical Foods or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)

Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)

Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food: Probiotic bacteria in this nutritious spirulina flake fish food help improve digestion for less waste and cleaner aquarium water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.518 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 out of 27(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Review 1 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sinks too fast for most fish

PostedDecember 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Tinley Park, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Medium stick-like pieces sink way too fast. Even aggressive eaters have trouble eating enough not to allow food to hit the bottom. Probably should feed one or two pellets at a time. Product description should state that they are fast sinking. And recommend for bottom feeders. I would not recommend this to anyone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Specifically spuirlina

PostedNovember 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Peosta, Iowa
Age:18-24
Gender:male
I currently keep a 90 gal cichlid community tank. I have read many places that spuirlina is a very beneficial thing for fish specially cichlids in achieving ultimate color and health. I have been feeding the cobalt spuirlina pellets for almost a month now, colors have since intensified for what they were but not as much as I hoped. The fish however love it when I feed these pellets, they chase it to the bottom and within a few minutes there is none left in the tank. So all in all if you would like to feed spuirlina I suggest using these pellets, the fish love them and it doesn't cloud the water like flake food.
Pros: Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fish Love It

PostedNovember 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Royersford, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
My fish absolutely are loving this product. The other night when feeding them, a few nearly jumped out of the tank to get at these things. They are very healthy for my African Cichlids and they eat this stuff up. The only negative that I have about this product is that it really will cloud up your water, so you need to do increased water changes unless you are alright with this. The water parameters are not negatively affected, only visibility.
Pros: Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality
Cons: cloudy water
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedSeptember 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
my fish love this food. The herbivores gobble it up. Very easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Food for Grazers

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Port St Lucie, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I feed this from time to time and my Tangs and Lawnmower Blennie love it.
It is interesting to watch them pick up the pellets, take a bite and then follow it back to the bottom and start again. My Lawnmower Blennie has somewhat of a "beer belly" when he eats this food. My Sailfin devours it and my Scopas plays and plays with the same piece for what seems like an eternity.
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Food, Excellent Delivery, Excellent communication

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, California, 90012
Age:25-34
I highly recommend this Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Pellets.
My fishes love to eat them.
Overall, it is an excellent product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great food, discus love it

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Beaverton OR
Age:35-44
Gender:male
since all my discus like to eat from the bottom, this pellets are great because they sink to the bottom and stay at the open area of my tank where is easy for the fish to get.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is the very best on the market today.

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Excellent product. My fish love it and keeps them in peak condition. It also reduces waste and keeps my tanks cleaner.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Pet Loves It, reduces waste
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fish Love It!!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Greenville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
My Discus and Angel fish love this product! Feeding frenzy when this stuff hits the water.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great alternative to spirulina wafers

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Greater L.A.
Age:35-44
Gender:male
After more than a year of looking for vegatable/seaweed-based flake alternatives to the typical spirulina disks/wafers meant for plecos and the like, I couldn't be more satisfied to have found Cobalt's Spirulina Flakes.
While my fancy goldfish happily eat the disks -- broken into smaller pieces -- I wanted something that was easier for them to eat, and that wouldn't potentially get lost in the substrate if somehow the goldfish didn't locate every piece.
As other reviewers have noted, Cobalt's Spirulina Flakes are large and remain in tact rather than quickly distintegrate, thereby the flakes stay on the water surface longer than most staple food flakes, ensuring the fish consume most of the food before it plumets to the substrate.
When deciding which size to order I was skeptical the 3oz. container would be enough food, yet didn't want to order double the amount (and nearly double price) in the event the fish didn't take to the flakes. After receiving my order I was surprised at how much 3 ounces of food actually was: the container is taller (but slightly smaller in diameter) than a can of soda.
Bottom line: this size was much more food than I anticipated, and expect that it will last me the better part of a year since I don't use it as a daily staple, feeding it every other day at most.
Cobalt's Spirulina Flakes have thus far proven a great goldfish veggie food alternative to spirulina wafers, as well as the bothersome and messier option of mashed de-shelled peas.
Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It, large flake size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fish seem to like it

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rockford (Byron), IL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I like the Cobalt product line as do the fish (seemingly). If there's just one issue I have with it, it's just a tick higher in price than all the other flake food brands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love Colbolt foods

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from new york
Age:25-34
Gender:male
This food is great. I prefer pellet, but it also comes in flakes. The quality is awesome for the price, and my fish love them. However with any type of spirulina you need to watch how much you feed your fish because it will temporarily alter there color. I have a red Texas cichlid, and when it eats this stuff the majority of it's body turns completely black for a couple of days while it works itself out of the fishes body. Sprilina really riches the blacks in fish
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
Cons: pellets are tiny
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality Food

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kingfisher, Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I use these pellets as a supplement to my flake food. The fish seem to really like the pellets. It does sink but most of the time my cichlids are at the top waiting for me to drop it in! If any pellets do make it to the bottom of the tank my plecos like it as well.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It, pellets are small enough for young fish.
Cons: i wish it was in a can and not a bag
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good fish food

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from S.I.,NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
It's a good food my only complaint is that it sinks to fast.
Pros: Good Value, Pet Loves It
Cons: sinks to fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
The pellets sink fast and the flakes don't fall apart and dirty the water. I got these for my guppies but my dwarf frogs, which I had a hard time getting to eat, absolutely love both the pellets and the flakes. I got the 3oz and they are huge. Great value and good quality.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good food, but not for all.

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I bought this food to add variety to my fish' diet. I have two 5-year old Marble Angelfish (freshwater if you didn't know) that will NOT eat this food. The other tank-mates (couple of African Cichlids, silver dollars, and rosy barbs) seem to tolerate it, although not with as much enthusiasm as other foods that I have used. Perhaps a saltwater crowd would find more satisfaction with this type of food.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: mediocre response from fish
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good flakes

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bronx ny
Age:35-44
Gender:male
This is a very good product and has brought the color out on many of my fish greatly.
Pros: High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My fish love it!

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:male
As soon as this stuff hits the water, my fish swarm for it.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
Cons: a little pricey but truly a quality product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good stuff

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Aurora Illinois
Age:25-34
Gender:male
All of my fish seem to like this food. The wrasses and my kole tang are the main reason I bought this and I've had no complaints from them. Only four stars because they don't go crazy for it like they do with another flake food I give them.
Pros: Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cobalt Aquatics Spirulina Premium Fish Food Flakes 32 oz (2 lbs)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Waterloo, Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:male
The flakes have substance that holds up as you use it. No tiny crumbs half way through the container. The fish seem to love it. I will purchase it again!
Pros: Durable, large flakes
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>