Drs. Foster and Smith Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Drs. Foster and Smith
Shop Food & Feeders or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk

Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk

Get your cat the only automatic fountain we offer made of ceramic for cooler water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.534 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(161 Reviews) 161
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 161 reviews
5 stars
121
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
8
147 out of 161(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 72 Answers
Customer Reviews for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Review 1 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats really like drinking from this fountain!

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
TexasRed01
from Arizona
Both cats were a little nervous of it at first. I mean, how often do their water bowls make noise? But now they absolutely love it. The water is fresh; always nice and cool. I highly recommend this fountain. Make sure they mark it as fragile when sending. The first one I received was broken into three pieces. No problem, though. They replaced it with no hassles, double packed it and marked it fragile. Came through in perfect shape.
Pros: Easy to Use, Pet Loves It, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice cat fountain

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
dsinsider
from Versailles, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I bought this cat fountain for my 3 cats, my male cats like it and drink from it, but my female cat doesn't drink from it because it does have little bit of noise due to motor working and that scares her. Hopefully she will get used to it and drink from it sometime. The construction of the fountain is very good, the water spill little bit out of the bowl when you first start it but than its not spilling anywhere. You have to make sure that the water level stays the same because when the water level drops, the motor starts to make a big noise which actually scares all my cats, but at the same time it lets me know that the water level dropped. Overall, it is very good product and my cats are enjoying this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finicky Cat

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
Chris8
from Southwest Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I purchased the stainless steel fountain for our adult male cat who is an indoor/outdoor cat 50/50. It took him 3 weeks before he would approach the fountain to drink and still remains skittish around it. We have not had normally hot weather yet this summer, but as temperatures rise, I expect he will be enjoying his new thirst quencher.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality, quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet, well designed

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
Melissa9
I purchased this to replace a cheaper plastic water fountain, and it is a fantastic upgrade! It really is whisper quiet, with absolutely no annoying filter hum! It actually seems to have been designed by a cat-savvy engineer-- it presents a variety of surfaces for cats to drink from. I'm very pleased with the fountain and would absolutely recommend it.
Pros: Pet Loves It, High Quality, quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems like a solid entry-level ceramic fountain

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
SLR29er
from Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I wanted a ceramic fountain for the ease of keeping kitty's water sanitary, and this will suit our needs. The price was certainly right, and the least expensive ceramic we found. I don't love that the pump cord hangs out of the top of the fountain, and I'm not a big fan of the cutesy kitty footprint design, but for our first fountain I think this is a solid find.
Pros: Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitty loves it; we love it!

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
Katzpur
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Our 20-year-old cat had absolutely no difficulty whatsoever adapting to her new water fountain. It is completely silent, which is great, and holds a lot of water. Every morning, I add two or three cups of ice cubes to the water and they cool it down as they melt.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality
Cons: the first one we ordered arrived chipped.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Ceramic Water Dish

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
Grammylodus
from Colorado
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
When we originally got our kitten, the vet suggested buying a ceramic fountain-type water dish. We immediately ordered one from Drs. Foster & Smith, and Bailey loved it from the very beginning. He is quite a healthy cat today because he drinks a lot water daily. It is easy to keep clean also. Bailey really enjoys the bubbling in the dish. When we travel with Bailey, we take the dish with us as Bailey isn't impressed with still water.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life saver for my baby boy!

PostedJune 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
TGentile
I have a beautiful male Maine Coon that just doesn't drink water. He likes rain water, but nothing from the house. I have tried several water filtration fountains and he hasn't cared for any of them....too noisy usually. As soon as this water fountain was set up he was drinking from it before I could step away! I feel so much more comfortable that he is getting the hydration that he needs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Founain!

PostedJune 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
BRinAZ
from Surprise, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I've had this fountain for my senior cat for about five years now, although I have had to replace it twice, once while still under warranty, because the ceramic "post" between the triangular bottom bowl and the top ceramic piece where the water flows down and back into the bowl, simply snapped off, leaving a quarter-sized hole in the bottom of the lower bowl. I realize that this is bound to be a weak spot where two pieces are joined, but it should hold together better than it does.
However, the fountain itself is terrific! My cat drinks a great deal more water with the fountain, although we leave still water when we go away for a weekend to ensure that the fountain doesn't run low on water and burn out the pump. I had a plastic fountain for Samantha previously, and although she liked it fine, she developed a rash under her chin that we couldn't get rid of, even with treatment by the vet. After reading about ceramic vs. plastic food and water dishes for pets, I learned that bacteria can work its way into the plastic and cannot be washed away, while the glaze on the ceramic dish prevents this bacteria build-up. Apparently, this spot under the chin is one of the areas that cats cannot reach when grooming, so it was wet after drinking from the fountain and the bacteria in the plastic was causing the skin to break out. The rash promptly cleared after switching to this ceramic fountain and it has never come back. #It's also much easier to clean than the plastic fountain we had.#
It's a great product, competitively priced, and Drs. Foster & Smith stands behind their products. My cat now drinks enough water to eliminate the crystals in her urine and she is healthy and happy at 17!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It
Cons: post separates from bowl
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not recommended

PostedJune 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
PersianLover
from Brooklyn, NY
This item is very breakable heavy ceramic. It is shipped without adequate protection. Mine arrived broken. To return it - it weighs a ton so why spend the money? I used super glue. Because it's way too heavy, carrying it around, and I mean empty, is very awkward. The filter has to be replaced every few weeks, and that alone is too costly. Plus every time you clean the filter, the whole unit has to be disassembled and washed, which risks breaking it. I'm using it until I run out of filters and then throwing it out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

PostedJune 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
Hurleygirl
from cape coral fl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
my cats love this fountain- quiet, circulating water, easy to take apart and clean!
Pros: Durable, Pet Loves It, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJune 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
ColoradoCats
from Woodland Park, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This is a replacement for a fountain I had for about 18 years. Replaced the pump on the old fountain and it was then extremely loud and kept leaking water on my wood floors. So I threw it in the trash and bought this one and I love it. It is whisper quiet and holds enough water for my 2 cats for several days without any leaks or spills. And the ceramic bowl seems to stay cleaner than the old plastic fountain. Both cats use it without any problems. Wish I had bought it sooner!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality, very quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
Loralee
from California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This is the best fountain ceramic ever made,at the best price!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

kitty-approved

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
mrkn
from CT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
My cat's go-to has been the toilet, despite a water glass being readily available right next to the food bowl - still water is so boring. This fountain waterer is just as nature intended water to be [if you ask a cat], good-bye toilet water. Kitty adjusted easily and started using it immediately. Great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality, quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hris
 
Please wait while more information about hris is loaded.
Additional information about hris could not be loaded.
Posted June 15, 2015
You might want to consider moving your water away from your cats food bowl. Cats will instinctually shy away from water that is near their food source, as in nature this can mean contaminated water (and ultimately death). My roommates cat would always ignore his water dish for the toilet/bath tub/sink until I told him this little tidbit. After he moved the bowl, his cat was much more interested in drinking from his water dish.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great!

PostedMay 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
misyx
Age:35-44
Gender:female
My three cats love the ceramic fountain, it really encourages them to drink more. I clean it once a week and change the filter once a month, checking the water level daily. The ceramic is heavier than a plastic fountain would be, but that's a plus for me as one of my cats used to love to take apart the plastic fountains and leave a mess all over the kitchen floor. It's also quiet and attractive - I have the red one. One drawback is cleaning the little crevices in the plastic pump housing. I use an old toothbrush, but pipe cleaners would probably work better. I tried cotton swabs, but they're not quite small enough! Overall, excellent. I would buy it again and recommend it to a friend.
Pros: Pet Loves It, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great & is quiet

PostedMay 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
CdnMoe
from Cape Coral, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Love the way it looks and my cats all love it. The motor is very quiet. Nice size for multiple cats.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat immediately took to this and drinks comfortably from all levels of the fountain.

PostedMay 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
MECoon
The pump is inaudible, and the design is easy to take apart and clean. My cat seems to really like this; she took to it immediately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality

PostedMay 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
SaraMG
from Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
works well, very quiet, heavy duty ceramic. Easy to clean, worth the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Bowl

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
tamlin
from PA
Even though my 7 kitties had a different motorized water bowl for about 5 years, it took some time for them to adjust to this one - about 3 days. This bowl has a larger opening on the side which makes it easier for the kitties to drink from, and they can see the water moving ever so slightly so they can see the water level. For these 2 reasons I applaud this bowl because the other one didn't have either feature, and because of that the kitties were forever sticking their paws in the water so they could see how far in to stick their faces, which left a lot of wet paw prints on the floor. Plus they are drinking more because it is easier for them with the larger side. The bowl is heavy when it is full, but you get used to it. And the outside is slippery if you don't dry the outside of the bowl and your hands after washing the bowl. I change the water and clean the bowl daily because I know I would want a clean bowl and fresh water every day. Every other day I drop 1/4 cup white vinegar into the water when cleaning the bowl and let it run about 15 minutes. This reduces scale build up of which we have a lot due to having well water. And then I rinse the parts well before filling with fresh water for the kitties.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
Cons: outside slippery when wet
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Replacement Filters 3-pk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quite an improvement

PostedApril 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
LindaE
from Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Compared to the fountains we have owned previously, this one is much quieter. It is easy to clean. It did take a day for kitty to decide she likes it, perhaps due to the reflective surface. But she loves it now!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>