Drs. Foster and Smith Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Drs. Foster and Smith
Shop Food & Feeders or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black

Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black

Get your cat the only automatic fountain we offer made of ceramic for cooler water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.531 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(147 Reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 147 reviews
5 stars
110
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
7
134 out of 147(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 71 Answers
Customer Reviews for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Review 1 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great!

PostedMay 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
misyx
Age:35-44
Gender:female
My three cats love the ceramic fountain, it really encourages them to drink more. I clean it once a week and change the filter once a month, checking the water level daily. The ceramic is heavier than a plastic fountain would be, but that's a plus for me as one of my cats used to love to take apart the plastic fountains and leave a mess all over the kitchen floor. It's also quiet and attractive - I have the red one. One drawback is cleaning the little crevices in the plastic pump housing. I use an old toothbrush, but pipe cleaners would probably work better. I tried cotton swabs, but they're not quite small enough! Overall, excellent. I would buy it again and recommend it to a friend.
Pros: Pet Loves It, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great & is quiet

PostedMay 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
CdnMoe
from Cape Coral, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Love the way it looks and my cats all love it. The motor is very quiet. Nice size for multiple cats.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat immediately took to this and drinks comfortably from all levels of the fountain.

PostedMay 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
MECoon
The pump is inaudible, and the design is easy to take apart and clean. My cat seems to really like this; she took to it immediately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality

PostedMay 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
SaraMG
from Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
works well, very quiet, heavy duty ceramic. Easy to clean, worth the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Bowl

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
tamlin
from PA
Even though my 7 kitties had a different motorized water bowl for about 5 years, it took some time for them to adjust to this one - about 3 days. This bowl has a larger opening on the side which makes it easier for the kitties to drink from, and they can see the water moving ever so slightly so they can see the water level. For these 2 reasons I applaud this bowl because the other one didn't have either feature, and because of that the kitties were forever sticking their paws in the water so they could see how far in to stick their faces, which left a lot of wet paw prints on the floor. Plus they are drinking more because it is easier for them with the larger side. The bowl is heavy when it is full, but you get used to it. And the outside is slippery if you don't dry the outside of the bowl and your hands after washing the bowl. I change the water and clean the bowl daily because I know I would want a clean bowl and fresh water every day. Every other day I drop 1/4 cup white vinegar into the water when cleaning the bowl and let it run about 15 minutes. This reduces scale build up of which we have a lot due to having well water. And then I rinse the parts well before filling with fresh water for the kitties.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
Cons: outside slippery when wet
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quite an improvement

PostedApril 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
LindaE
from Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Compared to the fountains we have owned previously, this one is much quieter. It is easy to clean. It did take a day for kitty to decide she likes it, perhaps due to the reflective surface. But she loves it now!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
gramadi
from auburn, ny
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
my cats love it. it is very quiet, you can not hear it running and it keeps the water fresh. the moving water attracts the cats and therefore they drink more. it holds enough water for multiple cats and only requires addition of water once a day.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this fountain!

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
BrendaS
from Dayton, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
It runs quietly, holds plenty of water for my two ten year old cats. Being ceramic helps to keep the water cold too. I wish I had purchased it much sooner.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It, ceramic not plastic
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent customer service

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
IwonaJR
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I ordered the ceramic watered for cats. Unfortunately the pump did not work properly twice so I decided to return the product all together. However I would still recommend the company because of customer service. They pick up the phone after just two or three rings (live person!). My first order came broken in shipment. I called and asked for the replacement to be better wrapped. They did just that and shipped replacements without waiting for the faulty product to be returned by me. Third time around I even got a credit towards future purchases without asking. So, although I was not lucky with the product itself (pump would work but wouldn't create the waterfall :), I would definitely purchase again from the company.
Pros: Good Value, pretty
Cons: pump did not work twice
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super quiet!!!

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
mbrooks666
from PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This water fountain is ridiculously quiet. I honestly don't know how they do it, I can't hear it running & it's only 2 feet away from me. My male cat loves it. The female I haven't seen near it yet, but that doesn't mean much, I had her for 3 years before I saw her actually use the letterbox (she's a private little thing). She's pretty scared of new things that make noise so if she's going to use any fountain, it'll be this one. It's really silent but has a nice large bowl for the cats to drink from. Would definitely purchase this again should I need another fountain (I do have a different style for downstairs - makes noise but I like the ambience down there).
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It, silent!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pretty looking and ceramic

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
Gingerlee
from Houston, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Stopped working in less than a year. Replacement did the same thing. Bought it because being ceramic I thought it would be easy to clean. And it was but if it doesn't work, what good is it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
Cons: broke twice
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cats need water, they like moving water

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
vincentux
from Saugatuck MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Cats will drink more water if the water moves or flows. That's why I bought this dish. I also like the ceramic. Its heavy duty. My cats drink from it which is pleasing to me. Cats (especially male cats) get crystals in their urine and can be deadly. The more water they drink the better. This type of dish can be helpful in making sure a cat will drink. Cats do not have a high thirst so making sure they drink plenty of water is important. This dish helps.
Pros: High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love it.

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
CEDK
from Garden Valley, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I have a lot of cats and they drink more water with these fountains. I have two of them for 16 cats. We change the water twice a day and rinse out the filters until they need to be changed. I am not worried about the cats having urinary infections from not drinking enough water. I would order extra filters so you do not run out.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
OriginalCatLady
from San Antonio, TX
Gender:female
I purchased one in Red. This fountain is a heavy quality item. I keep the red one in my kitchen. My cats love to pat the water so I placed on a protective mat to corral the splashed water. Very easy to assemble. I plan to purchase another one.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lola loves it!!!!!

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
SueW
from Plattsburgh, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I probably should wait to give this review as I only just received this product today. However, I am so excited that my 2 year old Persian was drinking out of it within 30 seconds after seeing it, I couldn't wait to give it a thumbs up!!!! I had purchased a plastic Drinkwell fountain for her over a year ago, which she liked and used at first, but has been avoiding now for months. Instead she has been climbing on counters to drink out of the sinks, which is pretty annoying. I decided I would try another fountain and after reading several reviews chose this one. Am I ever happy I did!! It was easy to assemble and is whisper quiet. Most importantly, however, Lola was drinking out of it in less than a minute.
The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that it has been operating less than an hour, so I can not rate it durability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Pet Loves It, easy to assemble, whisper quiet, looks great in the kitchen
Cons: none so far!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The cats and I love it.

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shirlcat
from Louisville,KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
It's quiet; it's decorative; it's easy to clean, and the cats love it! What more could someone want?
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It, quiet, attractive, easy to clean
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

waterer

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cherryk123
from south Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Well first it said it was quite...
No it's not...quiet. it roars and hums and the stainless steel top and bottom rattles. Tried putting some rubber between the two and it still roars.
Pros: Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
Cons: noisy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cat Loves This!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
EllaMommy
from Plymouth, MN
Age:35-44
My cat was a rescue & 1st acclimated to drinking from a decorative table fountain. I wasn't sure if she'd make the transition to the cat fountain I bought. 1st of all, it arrived WELL before I needed it. It was AMAZINGLY EASY to assemble! I tried it before I had to leave town for 5 days hoping she'd adapt. My Cat Loves This! She IMMEDIATELY took to it & it's ALL she drinks out of now! Plus, it's also SO unbelievably quiet, I can't even tell if it's on unless I look at it! It was a fantastic purchase & my cat & I are ABSOLUTELY THRILLED with the product! I would recommend this to EVERY cat owner! Trust me, your cat will LOVE it as much as mine!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It, extremely easy to assemble, arrived before expected, extremely quiet, adorable but sofisticated, low maintenance
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice and quiet

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Chatmom
from Beaverton, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
My cats love this fountain - it is large enough that they all can get around it at once (5 of them). The only thing I would change would be to make it a little deeper, but other than that - it is great.
Pros: Durable, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Westport Ceramic Waterer Fountain Color: Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
LucasLisa
I researched fountains and read tons of reviews and finally settled on the Bridgeport ceramic waterer. It is silent, easy, unobtrusive (we keep it on the kitchen counter!!) and all 5 of our cats enjoy it. Several of them were somewhat ocd about drinking from the running sink faucet but the fountain makes them happy now. Having it on the sink makes it visible and easy to top off with water which we do daily. It doesn't splash and doesn't make a sound. The cord situation that runs inside the fountain was weird and required some monkeying around before I got it to start working but other than that - its a great fountain. I never write reviews but this is a cool thing.
Pros: Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>