Drs. Foster and Smith Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Drs. Foster and Smith
Shop Hoods & Canopies or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle

Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle

6 ft replacement hinge strips for Aqueon Versa-Top glass canopies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.386 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
50 out of 56(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Review 1 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT FIT!

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tulsa, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The glass pieces fit great and made my aquarium complete. The order came in a very timely manner and I was VERY pleased!!
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good price

PostedJuly 9, 2016
Customer Avatar
Needed this aquarium lid hinge material for a long time. Was never willing to by the ridiculous cost at other sites. The hinge is brown in color, and fits 3/16" glass. It came in a 72" length which I then cut to size for my 2 lids. The center of the hinge (working part) is supple and appears that it will not crack easily. I am quite satisfied with the price and quality.
Pros: Durable, High Quality
Cons: not black
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacing pieces was better then replacing the item

PostedJune 21, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I purchased a used aquarium that had a older style glass lid. The lid seemed more heavy duty then I was used to because of the thicker glass but the hinge and back strip were cracked,broken and unusable. As I looked into replacing the lid. I could not find one with the thicker glass and I didn't like the idea of the cost of a new lid and discarding the older lid. On the Foster & Smith website page. I noticed the replacement back strip, hinge and handles for aquarium lids. I was able to buy 6 foot pieces of back strip and hinge in both 1/8" and 3/16" sizes plus 2 handles. This was enough to rebuild all of my lids for less cost of one new lid. They all look and work like new.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value
Cons: ability to cut and apply
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

exactly what it is

PostedMay 26, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Simi Valley, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Great product.....hard to find these kind of replacement parts in the big chain pet stores. I would highly recommend getting from DFS instead of wasting your time running around town to find it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

bought a clam and lemon peel. The clam came with a piece broken off

PostedMay 17, 2016
Customer Avatar
bought a clam and lemon peel. The clam came with a piece broken off
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

these parts fit my tank lid like a good glove.

PostedMay 6, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Hohenwald, Tn.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
these parts for my fish tank lid were perfect, fit, looks, exactly what I wanted and more.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exactly what I ordered and needed

PostedMay 5, 2016
Customer Avatar
from North Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
The parts came in and went on just like it should.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, Pet Loves It, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedApril 19, 2016
Customer Avatar
from MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
The smoke handle works great. Sticks well. The glass joiner I bought for the glass in the aquarium also works well. Great value.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product works great

PostedMarch 23, 2016
Customer Avatar
from DETROIT, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I had a bunch of old aquarium tops that I reused and the hinges cracked and back covers were cut for old style upright heaters. These replacement parts worked well and my tops look new again.
Pros: Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

does the job!

PostedMarch 5, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Maine
Age:25-34
Gender:female
bought this for my marineland cube that tops are not available for. cheap way to make your own-just cut to length and get some glass. it's not as durable as I've seen but it works and we're happy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits the glass; easy to trim

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
Customer Avatar
from ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Need to customize these whenever setting up a new aquarium or resurrecting an old one. These are pretty much a commodity item extruded plastic with rubber grips; nothing fancy.
They fit like they oughta. Trim with a pair of tin snips & grind off the burrs with a dremel if you want it to be pretty.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deal!

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I recently started up my 55 gallon aquarium after being out of the hobby for 10 years. The original pieces had been lost or broken. I thought I would buy temporary replacements until I bought a new tank. To my surprise they were far better quality than I thought they would be. My tank looks almost new.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

many uses

PostedDecember 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hilton, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I use the handle to attach to the screen top I made for my salt tanks
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect replacement parts

PostedDecember 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
These hinges are as good as the original hinges, if not better.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

3/16" hinge did not fit 3/16" glass

PostedNovember 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Although it appears to be close in size, the hinge could not be attached to glass without using extreme measures as mentioned in several other reviews. First side will go on without much problem, but the second side would not go on. Tried soap, then Vaseline, but eventually the glass broke before the hinge could ever be successfully attached. My old hinge reattached quickly and I could glue the broken glass together with silicone to get by until I find something that works, but this purchase was a waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like new

PostedNovember 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Got a bowfront aquarium from a friend and the hinges were worn on glass canopy along with missing backstrip. The replacement pieces were perfect and it's like new, again! Saved me a bundle in having to replace entire canopy!
Pros: Durable, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, awesome transaction!!!

PostedOctober 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from West Palm Beach, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This product was exactly what I needed to construct top covers for my 75 gallon aquarium. I am most happy with my purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

High quality materials, difficult to assemble.

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
This aquarium glass plastic hinge is made of very good looking, durable materials. It is, however, quite difficult to assemble. One reviewer recommended soap. We tried that, and soapy water, but finally ended up using Vaseline. Putting the entire edge in at the same time didn't work, so we resorted to pushing it in on one end, then sliding it all the way up. This took every bit of strength that I have, pushing up against a wooden post, but finally it slid all the way in.
I would have paid double to have it cut to size and assembled at the factory.
Pros: Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Cons: hard to assemble
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

spare parts

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
all parts were as described. make sure the handles are where you want them there is no second chance there. hinges are perfect, and the back guard works fine
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I cannot get it to fit

PostedAugust 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
The title says it all. It doesn't fit. I got one half pf the glass top in but try as I might, I cannot get the other piece of the glass top in to fit.
Cons: too hard to make fit
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>