Drs. Foster and Smith Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Drs. Foster and Smith
Shop Hoods & Canopies or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle

Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle

6 ft replacement hinge strips for Aqueon Versa-Top glass canopies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
42 out of 48(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Review 1 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT FIT!

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tulsa, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The glass pieces fit great and made my aquarium complete. The order came in a very timely manner and I was VERY pleased!!
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits the glass; easy to trim

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
Customer Avatar
from ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Need to customize these whenever setting up a new aquarium or resurrecting an old one. These are pretty much a commodity item extruded plastic with rubber grips; nothing fancy.
They fit like they oughta. Trim with a pair of tin snips & grind off the burrs with a dremel if you want it to be pretty.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deal!

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I recently started up my 55 gallon aquarium after being out of the hobby for 10 years. The original pieces had been lost or broken. I thought I would buy temporary replacements until I bought a new tank. To my surprise they were far better quality than I thought they would be. My tank looks almost new.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

many uses

PostedDecember 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hilton, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I use the handle to attach to the screen top I made for my salt tanks
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect replacement parts

PostedDecember 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
These hinges are as good as the original hinges, if not better.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

3/16" hinge did not fit 3/16" glass

PostedNovember 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Although it appears to be close in size, the hinge could not be attached to glass without using extreme measures as mentioned in several other reviews. First side will go on without much problem, but the second side would not go on. Tried soap, then Vaseline, but eventually the glass broke before the hinge could ever be successfully attached. My old hinge reattached quickly and I could glue the broken glass together with silicone to get by until I find something that works, but this purchase was a waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like new

PostedNovember 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Got a bowfront aquarium from a friend and the hinges were worn on glass canopy along with missing backstrip. The replacement pieces were perfect and it's like new, again! Saved me a bundle in having to replace entire canopy!
Pros: Durable, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, awesome transaction!!!

PostedOctober 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from West Palm Beach, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This product was exactly what I needed to construct top covers for my 75 gallon aquarium. I am most happy with my purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

High quality materials, difficult to assemble.

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
This aquarium glass plastic hinge is made of very good looking, durable materials. It is, however, quite difficult to assemble. One reviewer recommended soap. We tried that, and soapy water, but finally ended up using Vaseline. Putting the entire edge in at the same time didn't work, so we resorted to pushing it in on one end, then sliding it all the way up. This took every bit of strength that I have, pushing up against a wooden post, but finally it slid all the way in.
I would have paid double to have it cut to size and assembled at the factory.
Pros: Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Cons: hard to assemble
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

spare parts

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
all parts were as described. make sure the handles are where you want them there is no second chance there. hinges are perfect, and the back guard works fine
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I cannot get it to fit

PostedAugust 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
The title says it all. It doesn't fit. I got one half pf the glass top in but try as I might, I cannot get the other piece of the glass top in to fit.
Cons: too hard to make fit
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I have a pair of the glass lids over my 90G but I bought the replacement hinge and handle for a lexan lid that I had custom cut for my 24G nano cube. It works perfectly and I have enough excess hinge to do several replacements.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just as advertised

PostedMay 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Items are just as advertised. Very easy to install and have stuck well. I've had them for over 2 weeks now and have had no issues. Centering them on the lid was the hardest part, lol...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As described

PostedMay 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I like the 6 ft strip because I can cut to the size I want.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just as advertised

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Ordering easy, shipped and arrived quickly, product was exactly as advertized, worked well and I am happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Little Chute, Wi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I was so glad to find this back strip! It fit perfectly and the price was right!!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aquarium cover hinge

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Northern Michigan
Prompt service and delivery. Product just as described, but the 6 foot length is far more impressive in real life!
Pros: Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hinge 3/16

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I was unable to use the hinge, I wasn't able to get it to slide on my 3/16 glass. A waste of money
Cons: did not fit 3/16 glass 3/16 hinge
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to install.

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from O'Fallon Il
Age:55-65
Gender:male
After years of taping my old hinges together, I stumbled onto these. They were easy to cut to fit my application. The fitment on my lids was very tight and didn't require any type of adhesive.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These Products Are a God Send

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Silver Spring, Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:male
These products really are great. I have a 75 gallon salt water tank that is about 25 to 30 years old with a hood the same age. The hood over the years developed a bow to it and the center of the hood would always sit in the water. The clear plastic/glass area that allows the light to shine through developed a calcium film on it and the area of the hood in the water leaked causing water to get into the light fixture. This tank does not have a center support for the hood like the new tanks have. I was not able to fine a replacement hood due to the new hoods having a two parts which utilizes the center brace. This also included glass top hoods/canopies. So I made my own glass canopy by ordering these parts along with ordering online two pieces of 3/16" plate glass. The glass canopy came together well and looks great. This also allowed me to upgrade to LED lights which makes the fish look great.
The only down side is having to cut the hinge. You need a very sharp blade. I used my fine tooth saber saw blade and it went smoothly. I tried various cutting tools and this worked the best. Remember to measure 2 or 3 times and cut once.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: cutting of hinge
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>