Drs. Foster and Smith Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Drs. Foster and Smith
Shop Hoods & Canopies or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle

Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle

6 ft replacement hinge strips for Aqueon Versa-Top glass canopies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.39 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
36 out of 41(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Review 1 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT FIT!

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tulsa, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The glass pieces fit great and made my aquarium complete. The order came in a very timely manner and I was VERY pleased!!
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

High quality materials, difficult to assemble.

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
This aquarium glass plastic hinge is made of very good looking, durable materials. It is, however, quite difficult to assemble. One reviewer recommended soap. We tried that, and soapy water, but finally ended up using Vaseline. Putting the entire edge in at the same time didn't work, so we resorted to pushing it in on one end, then sliding it all the way up. This took every bit of strength that I have, pushing up against a wooden post, but finally it slid all the way in.
I would have paid double to have it cut to size and assembled at the factory.
Pros: Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Cons: hard to assemble
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

spare parts

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
all parts were as described. make sure the handles are where you want them there is no second chance there. hinges are perfect, and the back guard works fine
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I cannot get it to fit

PostedAugust 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
The title says it all. It doesn't fit. I got one half pf the glass top in but try as I might, I cannot get the other piece of the glass top in to fit.
Cons: too hard to make fit
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I have a pair of the glass lids over my 90G but I bought the replacement hinge and handle for a lexan lid that I had custom cut for my 24G nano cube. It works perfectly and I have enough excess hinge to do several replacements.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just as advertised

PostedMay 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Items are just as advertised. Very easy to install and have stuck well. I've had them for over 2 weeks now and have had no issues. Centering them on the lid was the hardest part, lol...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As described

PostedMay 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I like the 6 ft strip because I can cut to the size I want.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just as advertised

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Ordering easy, shipped and arrived quickly, product was exactly as advertized, worked well and I am happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Little Chute, Wi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I was so glad to find this back strip! It fit perfectly and the price was right!!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aquarium cover hinge

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Northern Michigan
Prompt service and delivery. Product just as described, but the 6 foot length is far more impressive in real life!
Pros: Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hinge 3/16

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I was unable to use the hinge, I wasn't able to get it to slide on my 3/16 glass. A waste of money
Cons: did not fit 3/16 glass 3/16 hinge
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to install.

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from O'Fallon Il
Age:55-65
Gender:male
After years of taping my old hinges together, I stumbled onto these. They were easy to cut to fit my application. The fitment on my lids was very tight and didn't require any type of adhesive.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These Products Are a God Send

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Silver Spring, Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:male
These products really are great. I have a 75 gallon salt water tank that is about 25 to 30 years old with a hood the same age. The hood over the years developed a bow to it and the center of the hood would always sit in the water. The clear plastic/glass area that allows the light to shine through developed a calcium film on it and the area of the hood in the water leaked causing water to get into the light fixture. This tank does not have a center support for the hood like the new tanks have. I was not able to fine a replacement hood due to the new hoods having a two parts which utilizes the center brace. This also included glass top hoods/canopies. So I made my own glass canopy by ordering these parts along with ordering online two pieces of 3/16" plate glass. The glass canopy came together well and looks great. This also allowed me to upgrade to LED lights which makes the fish look great.
The only down side is having to cut the hinge. You need a very sharp blade. I used my fine tooth saber saw blade and it went smoothly. I tried various cutting tools and this worked the best. Remember to measure 2 or 3 times and cut once.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: cutting of hinge
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

6 ft. 2 in. Plastic Backstrip

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Reno, NV
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This is the only place I can always find the replacement parts I need for my aquariums. As usual, the product is excellent quality...no burs or discoloration in the plastic. Sturdy enough to prevent fish from jumping out but flexible enough so you can cut to size with very little effort.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality product at a very affordable cost!

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Excellent replacement for my old, weathered and cracked hinge. Takes a sharp tool to cut to length and a little muscle; but well worth the results.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

product easy to use

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from PA.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Durable and easy to use - priced reasonable - would purchase another one if needed - shipping was a little slow.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Use
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
Age:45-54
Great deal on sale and I replaced all my hinge strips and cut them so my fish cannot jump out. Very happy and satisfied.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Change clear plastic material please!

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Newbury Park, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Parts arrived sooner than expected! My tank length is 35 7/16. The hinge cut nicely and fit the new glass well.
The clear acrylic piece cracked while cutting and neither piece is usable since the cracks traveled about 2 inches on each piece. Used to old cover, no problem.
Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

original quality replacement pieces

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
These are the same as what the originals came with. Cutting the plastic strips requires a good sharp tool, whether it's a box knife or a saw. The chips from a saw are statically charged and so a knife is easier clean up but a saw gives more control. If you are replacing these on several tanks, using a right size hole saw and a miter saw is quick and consistent.
The handles have good adhesive on them but you get only one chance to align them right and place them on a clean dry surface. The handles do not have the positive grip the Marineland handles have. Instead of a thick edge on top, the Aqueon handles have a tilt, and whether you place the tilt forward or backward, the handle tends to roll out of your grip as you close the lid. I have taken a few inches of airline tubing and put a slit in it so I can slide it over the edge of the front lid and reduce the bang when the lid falls shut.
Pros: Durable, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Smoke Handle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked perfectly

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Just clean the glass and snap the hinge in place. Works perfectly and very durable.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>