Drs. Foster and Smith Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Drs. Foster and Smith
Shop Prices Slashed or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass

Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass

6 ft replacement hinge strips for Aqueon Versa-Top glass canopies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
21 out of 24(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Review 1 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT FIT!

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
SALTWATERFISHY
from Tulsa, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The glass pieces fit great and made my aquarium complete. The order came in a very timely manner and I was VERY pleased!!
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

original quality replacement pieces

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mcdaphnia
from Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
These are the same as what the originals came with. Cutting the plastic strips requires a good sharp tool, whether it's a box knife or a saw. The chips from a saw are statically charged and so a knife is easier clean up but a saw gives more control. If you are replacing these on several tanks, using a right size hole saw and a miter saw is quick and consistent.
The handles have good adhesive on them but you get only one chance to align them right and place them on a clean dry surface. The handles do not have the positive grip the Marineland handles have. Instead of a thick edge on top, the Aqueon handles have a tilt, and whether you place the tilt forward or backward, the handle tends to roll out of your grip as you close the lid. I have taken a few inches of airline tubing and put a slit in it so I can slide it over the edge of the front lid and reduce the bang when the lid falls shut.
Pros: Durable, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked perfectly

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rbarrett
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Just clean the glass and snap the hinge in place. Works perfectly and very durable.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love these versa-tops !!

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wahtmf
from Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I have these tops on 3 of the 6 aquariums we have and the only reason they aren't on the others yet is because the tops that came with those aquariums are still in new condition. I purchased these versa tops because these aquariums didn't have a top when we purchased them or the top was in bad shape. I love the ability to see through the top and the piece on the back that can be cut to fit my need for filters, etc.. I purchased 3 tops for the 130 gallon aquarium and they make it look very nice. I would definitely recommend these tops.
Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, good visual appearance
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

aqueon versa-top replacement piece

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
7357
from lake, ms.70
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Didn't know such a thing existed. I often change things around filters, heaters, powerheads, etc. Then I have this hole in the back of my aquarium. Beats having to purchase a new top for my aquarium. Just cut the piece and replace. Very large piece and well worth the price.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
JNuB
from Austin, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I bought the 3/16" hinge and put it on 1/4" glass and works great.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as intended.

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fishlover98
Installs easily. Put one end on an angle, then tap down with palm of hand (while resting glass on carpet) .
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
WayneZ
from Medina, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Excellent product, easy to cut and fits perfectly! Makes and old top look new again! And you can't beat the price.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not the tool for curly haired dogs

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Goldwing180002
from South Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I bought this to trim my poodles, but it does not go thru their hair. I suppose it might work on straight haired dogs, but not on my poodles.
Cons: won't go thru curly hair
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fix

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
RMD1
from houston, Tx
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I prefer glass tops over full hoods, but after a while the hinges become damaged. Very few fish stores carry these hinges and it will cost you when they do. I was pleased to find these hinges at a reasonable price on the Doctor's. Foster and Smith site. The hinges come in a 6ft strip and require good measuring skills and a utility knife to cut the hinge to the right size. Installation requires a bit of muscle to remove the old hinge and to fit the new hinge on, but it is not difficult.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, no need to buy an entire glass top
Cons: no nstructions and extra tools needed
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Make sure to measure the thickness of the glass first

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
cuda
from minden, nv
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Ordered the wrong size, be sure to measure the thickness first. The correct size installed easily and worked well, have only been using it for 2 days, if it lasts a long time it will be a great solution to broken hinges.
Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice product

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Strooper
If you change plumbing on your tank and need to recut the plastic guard on the back, this is what you need.
Pros: Durable, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very pleased

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
BekkieOkie
from Lawton Oklahoma
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I was so surprise that he came in a large packing tube. It was exactly what I needed for my large aquarium top Cover. I will have the pleasure in using a brand new hinge for my glass cover and it will look nice and clean. My other hinge was bridled and full of calcium and minerals so it will be a pleasure to see something nice and clean. thank you for having this in your supplies for people like me
Pros: High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

high quality product

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Austin, Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:male
As good as original. Make sure you double check the glass thickness. I accidentally ordered the narrow one and had to work to make it fit.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not great

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
AZDAN
Arrived ontime. However, corner of it was broken. Not sure what return policy is.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely difficult to install

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
mbco
from colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Compared to the last hinge strip I had and spent 1 minute installing, this one was very difficult to install. I spent 1/2 an hour and then finally used epoxy to keep the hinge from coming off the glass
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
AndrewM
from Raleigh, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
These pieces perfectly replaced the cracked and brittle plastic parts on my old glass top.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is pretty straight forward.

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Frenk
from Vermilion, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:male
The hinge was easy to cut to size and fit my old glass top perfectly. I expect to get years of use out of it.
Pros: Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Versa Top hinge

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
RobinSouthNJ
from NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Although the hinge is working perfectly fine, I do have to admit that cutting it to properly fit my tank was a bit difficult. I ended up using basically a pair of heavy duty hedge clippers, found that they worked best for giving me a nice, even cut.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value
Cons: difficult to cut
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces Clear Back Strip 3/16" glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits Great!

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
MamaLama
from New Mexico
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I ordered this to replace my old one since it had been cut in many places for my old filtration system. It arrived quickly and was a perfect fit. Very snug, but that's exactly what I want so less water evaporates. It is heavy duty so a bit difficult to cut with regular scissors, I used my husbands small sheers and they sliced right thru the plastic. I am positive this product will last a very long time.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>