Drs. Foster and Smith Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Drs. Foster and Smith
Shop Hoods & Canopies or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge

Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge

6 ft replacement hinge strips for Aqueon Versa-Top glass canopies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
31 out of 35(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Review 1 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT FIT!

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
SALTWATERFISHY
from Tulsa, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The glass pieces fit great and made my aquarium complete. The order came in a very timely manner and I was VERY pleased!!
Pros: Durable, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just as advertised

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
DaveyCrockett
from Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Ordering easy, shipped and arrived quickly, product was exactly as advertized, worked well and I am happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
ambj
from Little Chute, Wi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I was so glad to find this back strip! It fit perfectly and the price was right!!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Pet Loves It
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aquarium cover hinge

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
MiFish
from Northern Michigan
Prompt service and delivery. Product just as described, but the 6 foot length is far more impressive in real life!
Pros: Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hinge 3/16

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
Razercut
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I was unable to use the hinge, I wasn't able to get it to slide on my 3/16 glass. A waste of money
Cons: did not fit 3/16 glass 3/16 hinge
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to install.

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
JrDot
from O'Fallon Il
Age:55-65
Gender:male
After years of taping my old hinges together, I stumbled onto these. They were easy to cut to fit my application. The fitment on my lids was very tight and didn't require any type of adhesive.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These Products Are a God Send

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
RamTurboD
from Silver Spring, Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:male
These products really are great. I have a 75 gallon salt water tank that is about 25 to 30 years old with a hood the same age. The hood over the years developed a bow to it and the center of the hood would always sit in the water. The clear plastic/glass area that allows the light to shine through developed a calcium film on it and the area of the hood in the water leaked causing water to get into the light fixture. This tank does not have a center support for the hood like the new tanks have. I was not able to fine a replacement hood due to the new hoods having a two parts which utilizes the center brace. This also included glass top hoods/canopies. So I made my own glass canopy by ordering these parts along with ordering online two pieces of 3/16" plate glass. The glass canopy came together well and looks great. This also allowed me to upgrade to LED lights which makes the fish look great.
The only down side is having to cut the hinge. You need a very sharp blade. I used my fine tooth saber saw blade and it went smoothly. I tried various cutting tools and this worked the best. Remember to measure 2 or 3 times and cut once.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: cutting of hinge
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

6 ft. 2 in. Plastic Backstrip

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fang
from Reno, NV
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This is the only place I can always find the replacement parts I need for my aquariums. As usual, the product is excellent quality...no burs or discoloration in the plastic. Sturdy enough to prevent fish from jumping out but flexible enough so you can cut to size with very little effort.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality product at a very affordable cost!

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
SpideySpedanko
from Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Excellent replacement for my old, weathered and cracked hinge. Takes a sharp tool to cut to length and a little muscle; but well worth the results.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

product easy to use

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
fishlover68
from PA.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Durable and easy to use - priced reasonable - would purchase another one if needed - shipping was a little slow.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Use
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
wekeula
from Seattle, WA
Age:45-54
Great deal on sale and I replaced all my hinge strips and cut them so my fish cannot jump out. Very happy and satisfied.
Pros: High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Change clear plastic material please!

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lisle
from Newbury Park, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Parts arrived sooner than expected! My tank length is 35 7/16. The hinge cut nicely and fit the new glass well.
The clear acrylic piece cracked while cutting and neither piece is usable since the cracks traveled about 2 inches on each piece. Used to old cover, no problem.
Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

original quality replacement pieces

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mcdaphnia
from Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
These are the same as what the originals came with. Cutting the plastic strips requires a good sharp tool, whether it's a box knife or a saw. The chips from a saw are statically charged and so a knife is easier clean up but a saw gives more control. If you are replacing these on several tanks, using a right size hole saw and a miter saw is quick and consistent.
The handles have good adhesive on them but you get only one chance to align them right and place them on a clean dry surface. The handles do not have the positive grip the Marineland handles have. Instead of a thick edge on top, the Aqueon handles have a tilt, and whether you place the tilt forward or backward, the handle tends to roll out of your grip as you close the lid. I have taken a few inches of airline tubing and put a slit in it so I can slide it over the edge of the front lid and reduce the bang when the lid falls shut.
Pros: Durable, High Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked perfectly

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rbarrett
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Just clean the glass and snap the hinge in place. Works perfectly and very durable.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love these versa-tops !!

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wahtmf
from Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I have these tops on 3 of the 6 aquariums we have and the only reason they aren't on the others yet is because the tops that came with those aquariums are still in new condition. I purchased these versa tops because these aquariums didn't have a top when we purchased them or the top was in bad shape. I love the ability to see through the top and the piece on the back that can be cut to fit my need for filters, etc.. I purchased 3 tops for the 130 gallon aquarium and they make it look very nice. I would definitely recommend these tops.
Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, good visual appearance
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

aqueon versa-top replacement piece

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
7357
from lake, ms.70
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Didn't know such a thing existed. I often change things around filters, heaters, powerheads, etc. Then I have this hole in the back of my aquarium. Beats having to purchase a new top for my aquarium. Just cut the piece and replace. Very large piece and well worth the price.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
JNuB
from Austin, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I bought the 3/16" hinge and put it on 1/4" glass and works great.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as intended.

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fishlover98
Installs easily. Put one end on an angle, then tap down with palm of hand (while resting glass on carpet) .
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
WayneZ
from Medina, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Excellent product, easy to cut and fits perfectly! Makes and old top look new again! And you can't beat the price.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aqueon Versa-Top Replacement Pieces 3/16" wide Hinge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not the tool for curly haired dogs

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Goldwing180002
from South Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I bought this to trim my poodles, but it does not go thru their hair. I suppose it might work on straight haired dogs, but not on my poodles.
Cons: won't go thru curly hair
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>